Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:52pm - Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2003
God's Shoulders.
A little overdue for another entry. I know. I'm sorry.

We're still getting ready for our big BBQ for the homeless on Sunday. There are a lot of businesses that have been called, and we're still hoping to get a donation of some nice tri-tip steak. We set the bar pretty high with that last year.

Today, however, was a bit different. Somehow we got hooked up with this lady in Minnesota who takes her nieces and/or nephews on little missions trips every year. This year, she took her nephew to California. So they flew in today, and Chris, Josh, Dan and I took them to the beach to see the sunset.

It was pretty amazing. I've seen the sunset twice now since I've moved here, and it's been very nice both times. However, I've gained a deeper appreciation of just how miraculous that first time was almost a year ago.

Some back-story:

Often, as I drove around Kitchener at dusk, I would look at an incredible sunset sky and wish I could see more. I would get frustrated at how much junk there was between me and that sunset. Our stuff was always cluttering up God's art. I wanted God to lift me up on his shoulders and let me really see.

In October of 2002, he did.

Chris and Dan took me out to the ocean. As the sun fell slowly, no one said a word. We know this was a moment of holiness. There was not a cloud in the sky, and we watched the sun fall into the ocean. It was such an utterly perfect moment, it is futility to try to describe.

This experience was one of the things God used to confirm to me that I was to move here.

My subsequent "sunset experiences" since I moved have been beautiful, of course, but none have been quite like that first time. There has been cloud cover or haziness. None have been as clear as that day almost a year ago.

Thanks, God. I like you a lot.

Aaron.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!