Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:47 a.m. - Monday, Mar. 29, 2004
What's the point?
Okay, Reader, whoever you are, it's your turn.

I've been writing for nearly six months now, opening my soul to you week after week like a fresh can of tuna. You have journeyed with me from my first mass to telling my parents I'm becoming Catholic. I've given you a lot. Now I want something from you.

I want you to tell me why I should bother to continue this journey.

I mean, what's the point? All I have to look forward to is a life of constantly being misunderstood by every non-Catholic Christian around me. My friend Greg is a priest, for cryin' out loud, and he's constantly being witnessed to!

I don't need to become Catholic. Why don't I just stay where I am and not worry about going all the way? I can appreciate all the beautiful things about Catholicism without actually becoming one. No Mary, no Sacred Tradition, no purgatory. My friends wouldn't look at me funny. I wouldn't get stupid questions all the time. My parents would approve of me.

I don't have to become a priest. I can live a consecrated life without actually becoming a priest. Heck, I already am living a consecrated life. So what's the sense in the priesthood? Holy smokes! What the heck am I thinking? I can't become a priest! That's ludicrous!

I should pursue acting again. I know I could do it. God knows we need some good Christian men and women working in the entertainment field ( I mean besides Benny Hinn). I could fly back to Toronto tomorrow and have a place in the Second City touring company by next week.

Catholic priest. Stupid. There's just no need.

So tell me, Why should I keep going? I don't care who you are, I want to hear from you. Even if your response is "Just 'cuz." Even if I have no idea who you are or that you read my journal. Actually, ESPECIALLY if I have no idea who you are or that you read my journal. My email address is [email protected] .

Need some encouragement here, folks. What's the point?

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!