Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:50 p.m. - Monday, Aug. 16, 2004
An Abundance of Glory
Here I sit at the very computer my uncle uses to read my diary. Yes, folks, I am in the tiny town of Three Hills, Alberta.

Uncle Grant and Aunt Jean have shuffled off to bed, and I am left alone with a computer. Though this keyboard causes me to think I might wake them up with its clicking. I kinda like it. It's like typing on a typewriter.

Anyhoo. I finally made it here. It is extremely quiet in this town of 3000. Coming from a place like Modesto, it's almost overwhelmingly quiet. Perhaps that's what is making the sound of this keyboard seem all the louder.

Today I walked cracked sidewalks overgrown with grass, down to the edge of town and looked out on miles and miles of space and freedom. I prayed the joyful mysteries of the rosary as life sang out all around me. Those little white moths whose sole purpose seems to be to look pretty flitted from bud to bud. I walked down the train tracks as grasshoppers scurried into the tall blades.

And then I saw a goat that looked like Dave.

This evening, Grant and Jean took me to their friend's place who raise goats. He told me about this grizzled old goat that might remind me of Dave. I stepped out of the car, and there he was: Dave, in goat form. The long, skinny face, the big eyes, the goatee. Pretty amazing.

Grasshoppers and prairies and goats that look like homeless guys I know. God has truly made an abundance of glory.

1 comments so far

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!