Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:03 p.m. - Monday, Oct. 18, 2004
Steak and Blues
A rare gift has been afforded me. The house is completley empty. This means I can sit here at the ibook, listen to old Van Morrison and write a journal entry.

We had a great big barbecue at our church yesterday, and it was really cool. This is the third time it�s happened at our church, and I think this time was my favourite so far. It was the most relaxed yet, at least for us. The first two were super cool too, but we had a lot more things scheduled and more stuff to think about (political meeting, schedule for bands, etc). All we had to worry about this year was cooking tri-tip steak, playing music and hanging out.

Part of what made it the best one yet for me was the amount of homeless friends we had helping us this time around. Six guys from the park joined us for church and helped out with cooking the meat and setting up stuff.

Chris and the band rocked some blues. Good ol� Dave even got up to the mic and laid down some raps. I don�t think he even cussed (though I can�t be sure). A couple other homeless guys who played guitar spontaneously joined the band and rocked out, too.

I was walking around with a big, goofy smile on my face all day. People got huge plates of food and free clothes and jackets and blankets. It�s amazing what you can if you just give it a try. Who says a little, backwards church can�t pull off a big, fun event?

Seriously, who said that? Cuz whoever said that is a big doofus, and he should learn to shut his trap.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!