Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:37 a.m. - Wednesday, November 3, 2004
God is Good
Some days take you by surprise.

Shortly after writing my previous entry, I left for Chavez Park to pick up Dave and his friends for church. Dave had more friends with him than I expected. So, Dave, J.R., Doug, Pops, "Sugar Bear", Sugar Bear's wife and four kids climbed into the Aerostar. That's 11 people in a 7-seat van.

As I travelled down the highway, I could feel the weight of the tremendous load. We arrived safely at church (thank-you, Jesus) and piled out of the van. Soon we were having coffee and singing songs.

After the service, we had a little situation to take care of. Two nights previously, Dave and J.R. had gotten a camping ticket, and Saturday night their tent and blankets were stolen. Sunday morning, they were awakened to "Get out of here, you worthless piece of shit." and were quickly run off.

Dave came to Chris and me hoping that we might have some sort of solution for him. The emergency winter shelter wasn't open yet, and the rumour was that they were going to be full for the next week. This is a town with too few options. To make a long story short (and believe me, it's a long story), Dave and J.R. stayed here at the church with the YWAM team that's been working with us. Sugar Bear's family came out to the church for the big 'Trunk or Treat' event Shelter Cove hosted. There were bounce houses and copious amounts of sugary treats. Dave and J.R. and the YWAM guys sat upstairs and watched Pulp Fiction. We came to the church the next morning, and Dave and J.R. joined the team for sharing and prayers. It turned out pretty cool. The shelter opened, and the guys were able to get beds. The week-long wait rumour was not true. Dave even got a new wheelchair from the people running the shelter, so he doesn't have to hobble around on his broken ankle's cast. Good things are happening here, and God is good when his people are faithful.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!