Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:59 a.m. - Saturday, Jan. 15, 2005
\"My Boy.\"
Thank-you, God, for loving us enough to let us hurt.

We've all been walking through a lot of difficult situations here lately. I've tasted many teardrops. A good friend said something very profound to me the other day, though. He said he'd rather live a life full of pain and hardship than a life of comfort, because he'd rather be counted with Job than the pharisees.

The pharisees lived relatively easy lives. They were counted among the elite and did little to become involved in human suffering. Consequently, they experienced very little spiritual growth, and had very little love for God.

Job, however, was different. Satan came before God and wanted to make this man suffer so that he would curse God. God told him, "Go ahead, because I know my boy is not going to do that. He loves me too much."

It's through suffering that we are made like Christ, and so if I must suffer in order to become a little more like the One I love more than all others, so be it. I want to be like him. He loves me enough to not let me get by with an easy life without growth.

He loves me enough to let me hurt.

Jesus, I'm your boy.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!