Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:03 a.m. - Friday, Jan. 28, 2005
A Day.
No great inspirations for writing lately, so how about your basic "day in the life" entry.

This morning I picked up Chris and we drove to the hospital, where our friend Greg's aunt is. Greg wanted to visit her but couldn't so asked us to go. She was out of her room for some test of some kind, but her daughter was there. We talked a while and prayed with her for her mom.

We had about a half hour to fill before we needed to leave for our next appointment, so we ended up going to the Eucharistic Adoration chapel at St. Joseph's. It was Chris's first time. Felt good to be near to Jesus.

We drove from there to our 11:30 appointment at the food bank, where we collected boxes and boxes of goodies such as Doritos and Chips Ahoy. Yum. We drove back to the church and unloaded it all. Of course the real fun of all this was in the "drove to" and "drove back". You can't be in vehicle with Chris without laughing at stupid things.

Soon after that, it was time to go downtown to meet James and Cher for some fellowship before doing the bread truck. I confess I did not fellowship much. I've gotten so little sleep lately that I went in the van and napped.

Nap time ended and we went to the Mission to pick up the bread. While the bread was loaded, I sat in the van and applied cortizone cream to my legs. I'm still suffering from a bout of poison oak. Arg!

The van was soon loaded and we went to the first park. One hundred and one people came out for free bread and pastries today. We almost didn't have enough. You see, it's the end of the month, and we tend to have more people because that's when checks run out.

We re-loaded at the Mission and proceeded to the next park. About 50 or so there, I think. Dave found us, and he was in a really good mood. He had me dying with his impression of the homeless vets that hang around. "I was dropped in and my gun didn't work and all I had was a broken bottle! And I said, come on!!! I took 'em all out!" I love Dave. He makes me laugh.

We said 'bye to Dave and we were off to take a food box to a family in need. They call every couple months, we bring them a box and catch up with how they're doing. They're really good people. They're always friendly and open and very thankful.

We drove home and listened to Rage Against The Machine and laughed some more. Had some supper. I came to the church. Spent some time in the office. Ended up at the Davenport's (the pastor's family, who live in the parsonage), and of course ended up talking and praying. This brings me to the wee small hours when I now write.

I like days like today. They are varied and full of life. Thank-you, Lord. You're good to me.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!