Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:53 a.m. - Monday, Mar. 21, 2005
Chapter Two: Vigils

I laid in my small bed, but didn�t get much rest. I laid on my small bed and tried to quiet myself, but I�m not much used to going to bed before 11 or 12. At last I drifted off into a light sleep, but that�s when the mysterious tapping came.

From about 2:00 on, a tapping was heard above my head, persistent and disturbing.

�What in the world is that?� I thought, and tried fruitlessly to cover my ears with my pillow.

At about 3:20, the bells rang and I awoke, or rather arose, for Vigils. I walked to the church in the silent dark, letting the night air awaken me. It always feels a little odd and a little good to be up and about before the world is. My steps crunched along the path until I reached the church. I sat next to the older gentleman I�d seen a few hours before, and soon the monks took their places for the singing of prayers and psalms.

When Vigils had ended, I stood to leave and felt a friendly pat on my back. The old man and I walked in silence until he said in a thick, german accent, �You want shum coffee?�

We went into the kitchen, I had some tea, and I chatted with Henry. My strawberry herbal tea was soon finished, and Henry and I said good night. I went back to bed and didn�t sleep some more. Lauds was at 6, followed by Mass. I�m sure they were very beautiful, and I got out of bed when I heard the bells ring for Terce at 8:55. I showered, dressed, and headed for the kitchen for some much-needed coffee.

Brother John was straightening up the dining area, and we said hello. I stepped outside, sat at a picnic table in the morning sun and began to write. Soon I was joined by the resident lay-cat, who felt it appropriate to sit on my lap as I wrote.

Tuesday, March 8/05 9:58am
Good morning.
at the Abbey of New Clairvaux,
sitting at a picnic table, surrounded by peace.

I�ve come here in search of Your heart and mine.
I think when I have found Yours, I�ll have found mine.
And I�m finding Your heart already.

The animals here are full of God�s affection.
Everything here sings and whispers of God,
and even the animals seem to have taken up religious life.

Squirrels went about their business, occasionally stopping to look me in the eye. I stepped onto the back porch of the kitchen when a jay met my eye. He looked at me quizzically, and looked towards the cat�s food. Sizing me up, he seemed to figure that I was a decent sort of fellow who wouldn�t begrudge him some cat food. So he hopped down to the cat�s bowl, scooped up a few pellets, and hopped off.

I smiled and proceeded to return my empty coffee cup.

Religious life, indeed.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!