Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:41 p.m. - Sunday, Jul. 17, 2005
Moonlight Faith.
Greetings!

I have returned... I think.

The work on the apartments is done, or at least done enough to move in, and some form of normalcy is coming back. So now if I don't write as often as I should, it's because I'm a slacker and not necessarily because I'm unbelievably busy.

So what am I thinking about lately that is worth formulating into a written musing?

What is faith?

Faith is a lamp, not a floodlight.

When I'm fairly certain that God has instructed me in a given direction, I tend to want the path to have ample lighting. Like a sidewalk lined with lamposts, with only a few dark spots here and there. This, however, is not faith.

"Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path."

A lamp. A single, small flame that illuminates enough of the path to take the next step. Faith is taking that step in low lighting.

I believe there's yet another kind of faith that is less like a lamp and more like moonlight. Perhaps you were told to walk this road earlier in the day, when the sun was bright and you were full of confidence. But now it is dark, and you just have to trust that there is still a safe road ahead. More light will come when it's needed, and when the dawn finally breaks, you'll be able to look back down the road you've travelled on and realize you had no need to be afraid.

This is the kind of faith I want.

Moonlight faith.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!