Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:22pm. - Thursday, Oct. 09, 2003
Losers.
Alright. Entry number 2. Like anyone's gonna read this.

Well today was 'Bread Truck Day' when we pick boxes and boxes of bread from the Mission and take it out to a couple of low-income communities here in town. It was a little nuts today. Lots of folks wanting free bread. Often people get a little anxious or picky over the desert / pastry. A good day, though.

Father Greg was able to join us for the first in a long time. I love that guy. I would say he's the most honest and genuine person I know, except that I've had the amazing grace to have gotten to know a whole bunch of honest, genuine people since I came here. So he is one of the most honest, genuine people I know. He's well aware of his shortcomings and talks openly of his wretchedness, and yet that only serves to make me respect and love him even more. Funny thing, that. The more we make ourselves transparent, the more we are open about our weaknesses, the more God's grace shines through. True humility only makes a person more attractive.

Speaking of humble, real people, my friend Josh has returned to Modesto from Chicago. What can I say about Josh? Same stuff as Father Greg. Never hides his faults. Doesn't try to look good when he's feeling down. Neither does his happiness have to be contained or stifled. He's just Josh. He's desperatley in love with God. He's an incredible songwriter and musician. When the God-lover and the song-writer come together, get ready to bawl your eyes out. Anyhoo, I'm real glad he's back.

I'm just so incredibly thankful for these friends of mine. It simply defies all logic and odds that I should have so many friends with which I can be completley myself. It's amazing how much I laugh when I'm around these self-proclaimed losers.

Thank God for losers. Without them, we'd all be lost.

Aaron

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!