Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:22 p.m. - Friday, Nov. 14, 2003
God and Cupcakes.
A reflection on a good day....

The day began with "morning vespers" with Dan and Chris. I know, "vespers" implies evening, but I like the sound of "morning vespers." I'm so glad I have friends that I can be real with, and that they can be real with me.

I was reminded today of how I'm absolutely surrounded by God. I just can't get away from him.

I look outside, and there's sunlight. I look up and there's sky and clouds. I look down and there's a hundred shades of green grass. He's hiding in unnoticed things. Moses heard God speak through the burning bush only because he took the time to notice it. We often want God to speak up, but his language is visual. We hear him best with open eyes.

God is also hiding in day-old cupcakes.

We took bread down to the motels today. I hope we can keep connecting with the folks there, and build some friendships. It would be so easy to not go. It would be so easy to think "Oh, we don't do much. It's just bread. What's the point?" But I was reminded today that people are really encouraged by our being there. They need to know that they are not forgotten. They need to know that people care enough to bring them day-old bread and deserts from the supermarket. I know it's not much, and maybe we could be doing more, but it's a start.

It's funny. We're the ones supposedly "bringing God" to the motels, and yet I always find him waiting there for me. Go figure.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!