Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:39 p.m. - Sunday, Nov. 16, 2003
Mass Hysteria.
I went to mass again tonight. I'm really enjoying it.

I like that the meaning or depth that I find in the service is not dependant upon how good a sermon the preacher gives. Actually, the two "sermons", or "homilies" have been mediocre at best. But the rest of the service is beautiful.

I love the music, I love the liturgy. I also appreciate the art. I'll often just focus on a crucifix or stained glass and let God speak the things there are no words for. I feel at peace when mass is over. I feel like God and I have had meaningful interaction.

I'm still learning all the little phrases that are said or repeated, and I just follow other people to know when to stand or kneel. It's all quite beautiful. I love kneeling. Protestants don't kneel enough. It's such a meaningful thing.

I also appreciate that it's not about putting on an impressive show. Nobody's trying to be overly "seeker-friendly" or putting on a facade. It's just presenting Jesus. Incredible.

Anyhoo, I'm really getting to like it.

On a different subject, I know my friend Sam is probably reading this. I just read his journal and he's sick. So, Sam, get well soon. Think of you quite a bit, pally. God bless you.

I should try to get to bed early tonight, so I'll be going now. Thanks, by the way, to anyone who takes the time to hear thoughts from little ol' me. Peace and all good.

Aaron

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!