Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:30 p.m. - Monday, Jan. 12, 2004
There's Something About Mary.
I think I am, for all intents and purposes, Catholic.

I sat in my non-catholic church's empty sanctuary the other day and stared at a big, wooden cross while I meditated on the rosary. I've missed one Sunday mass in the last 3 months. I've spent hours in Eucharistic Adoration. I finally "get" transubstantiation, and it is beautiful. I'm starting to "get" the theology of Mary. Every single day I feel my calling to the priesthood to be more and more real, and every single day I find myself more and more in love with this Jesus.

I'm pretty much Catholic.

It's all kind of scary, but not necessarily in a bad way. More like scary like when you decide you're going to go on that Sky Flyer thing at Canada's Wonderland (essentially a kind of bungie jump), and then you're all strapped in, and then you're slowly raised higher and higher, and all the time you're thinking "Aw, this ain't so bad" until you finally reach the top and then you look around and say "Oh, I'm actually quite high" and then you realize you're actually more than a little scared about 2 seconds before you're released and plummetting to the earth at an alarming speed. But then you become confident in the safety of the whole contraption and you are free to simply enjoy the feeling of flying, and then you walk away from it saying "I did that."

It's that kind of scary.

I think I like it.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!