Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:19 a.m. - Saturday, Apr. 24, 2004
Thirty, Too.
Thanks to everybody who sent me birthday greetings! I had a great day.

In fact, here are 32 reasons why my 30th birthday was better than my 29th. Most of these were written before noon yesterday.

1. I woke up once, as oppossed to several times through the night.

2. When I woke up, I was not puking.

3. When I woke up, I was in a bed, and not an air mattress prone to losing air.

4 That bed was in a bedroom, not an office.

5. I got up and Chris and I helped an old man move a new mattress into his bedroom, and I did not puke during a police sweep of homeless people.

6. I am sitting in a lawn chair in my own back yard.

7. I have a "handi-cat" playing in the grass next to me. (June Carter Cat can't walk too well.)

8. There is an 8 year-old boy quoting the Cat In The Hat movie and making funny faces.

9. I had a nice little breakfast made by a friend, and I did NOT puke.

10. I was rolled under my bed by that friend and his kids when I woke up this morning (a strange tradition), although I did not actually fit under the bed.

11. My birthday is on a Friday, and birthdays are much better on Fridays than on Wednesdays or Mondays.

12. It is a beautiful day and I'll actually be awake to appreciate it, rather than sleeping and puking.

13. I'm going bowling with a whole bunch of friends and eating pizza tonight, and not going somewhere where I can't actually eat for fear of puking.

14. I have more friends to share my birthday with than I did last year, including a priest who makes inappropriate jokes who I've gotten to know a lot better.

15. I am exactly one year wiser than I was last year.

16. I am more at peace with myself than I was last year.

17. I have less money this year.

18. I was up at 1:00 a.m. this morning exercising writing skills that have much-improved and been much-read. Also, I was not moaning like I was about to puke.

19. I am waiting for a cheque from The Door for publication of several comedic pieces I wrote. I am a published writer this year!

20. I am sitting outside with a moment to myself and a space in which to have that moment and no meetings to go to or "Coalition" to be a part of.

21. I love Jesus more this year than last year.

22. I am better friends with homeless and poor people this year.

23. Did I mention I have not puked this year?

24. I am closer to Heaven than I have ever been.

25. It is not an overcast, grey day this year. It may not have been last year either, but it seems like it was.

26. I just put on a t-shirt that smells great because I was able to hang it out to dry in my back yard, and I did not have to go to a laundromat.

27. I'm drinking a real good coffee that I made in my kitchen, and not in the church office.

28. I am not 29 years old.

29. I am not 31 years old.

30. I am 30 years old.

31. I am more God's than I have ever been.

32. I am me, and I am cool, and I am free.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!