Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:08 a.m. - Friday, Sept. 4, 2004
Singing.
"There is nothing more truly artistic than to love people."

-Vincent Van Gogh

We made music tonight. There were no instruments. Just people and an In'n'Out Burger. I love making music like that. Six people cussing and/or smoking and being real and sharing their hearts' deepest desires. This is music. This is community. This is art of the best kind.

I love what God is doing here. I am so excited to be a part of it. I am "in the band" and I love it. I love the people that He's brought to each other. I feel honoured to be a part of their lives. A few months ago, I was watching a band play at our church thinking about how cool they are, trying to find whatever "in" I could after the show to talk to the rad drummer and seem cool, and now he's my friend. He came and gave away bread with us today. He's not "the drummer" any more. He's my friend Frank, and he thinks I'm cool! I love that! The lead singer's not "the lead singer," he's my friend Eric.

I love those guys. I get to be part of their lives. And Jimmy's life. And Justin's life. And Josh's life. I'm just... happy. All the lines between ministry and friendship and outreach and even art are getting very blurred, and that's exactly the way it should be. Community erases those lines.

Community is the Rosetta Stone of Christianity. It's the thing that makes everything in the Christian life make sense. Everything, and I mean everything, in the Christian life is connected to community, the communion of saints. Six guys sharing their hearts outside the In'n'Out is a holy communion, and it is truly a work of God.

It's a beautiful song, and I'm ecstatic that I get to sing it.

6 comments so far

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!