Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:55 a.m. - Tuesday, Jun. 08, 2004
The Song
I'm wishing I had something profound to share, but I don't think I do. I'm feeling a little dry.

I'm still adapting to life in community, or rather a deeper community than I have had in a long while. Each day seems to get a little better. I've learned the incredible power of earphones and sacred music to drown out morning house noises / childrens' screams. Truly indispensable when you're trying to have some quality time with God.

Perhaps Chris is right. Our life together is a prayer. In a city that says that you must be independant and self-centered, that says you must own your own giant home and live there with no more than 3 other people, we are doing something radically different. We are finding a better way to live. We are sharing every part of our lives with each other. This way of life is a prayer. It is an intercession for this city.

This city's song is one of noise and dischord, and we are singing an opposite, beautiful song. It is quiet now, but even the softest sound of beauty blares painfully into the devil's ears, and rests sweetly on the ears of Jesus. Though it is just one in the din, it is heard, and it will grow louder.

Dear God, continue to teach us to sing, and let your Song be on our lips day and night.

'The seventh time around, when the priests sounded the trumpet blast, Joshua commanded the people, "Shout! For the LORD has given you the city!" '

-Joshua 6:16

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!